Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

To live in sin.

1 Comment

Romans 6:1-11

“The single greatest cause of atheism in the world today is Christians, who acknowledge Jesus with their lips, then walk out the door, and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable”   – Manning Brennan

When I was reading Romans 6 this morning I remembered this quote that I heard when I was younger from a DC Talk  song (don’t pretend you don’t know who DC Talk is, I still have them in my IPOD today- it’s a sweet throw back).  When I was younger I don’t remember ever really listening to this quote but now that I have become more detail oriented in my old age (ha) I kept thinking “what are they saying at the beginning of that stupid song?”  Once I figured it out I was struck by its truth.

Let me say this before I keep going; many people have disputed this quote as inaccurate stating that the bible explains that Atheism is a result of loving darkness.  Well, maybe that is true, I don’t really know.  But if that is how you think than I must ask this: Why do Atheists love darkness.  Is it possible that they may find Christians insincere, GASP.

I often wonder why Christianity is the most hated of all religions.  It is socially acceptable and totally indie cred. to be associated with any religion other than Christianity.  Why?  I have heard that it is because the truth is threatening, and that a world of sin wants nothing to do with Truth.  But I also think it has to do with Christians who skate by on an abundance of grace, instead of living in love like God has called us to do.  I certainly know that I have done this.  I have certainly lived a sinful lifestyle that I new was wrong, I have certainly been mean and unkind to other people, and I have often been confronted with the right and wrong thing to do and chosen the wrong.  And at the same time as all of this, I was a Christian.  Either this is going to make everyone want to be a Christian because, hey, you can still do whatever you want and because of grace you are going to heaven.  Or you are going to be so turned off by the insincerity of my faith that you want nothing to do with Jesus.

What shall we say, then? Shall we go on sinning so that grace may increase? By no means! We died to sin; how can we live in it any longer? Romans 6:1

Jesus tells us that faith without deeds is nothing.  Even though I am not sinning at the extremes of my past, I am still a sinner and I sin everyday.  As I grow in my relationship with God the more I want to follow his commands.  But let me tell you what, I still stink at it!  All I can say is thank you Lord for your grace.  Please do not let me get into a pattern of taking advantage of this wonderful gift.

One thought on “To live in sin.

  1. Heidi did you write this? This is your brother Mike.

Leave a Reply

