Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

to Praise.

Leave a comment

Isaiah 63

When I read Our Daily Bread devotional this morning I was a little lost.  Is it o.k. to admit that I have no idea what is going on?  This devotional usually gives you a few verses of scripture to read and then gives you a littler personal story or insight from that days author.  Well today was confusing.  The topic on the devo. was worship but when I read Isaiah 63 I was a little lost.  This is about worship?  I pondered things a little bit and then decided to go into work a little early and maybe God would speak to me during the day.  Well…it is currently 9:00 at night and I still have no idea what Isaiah 63 means and what I am supposed to get out of it.  I have tried reading these verses in different bible versions (thank goodness for bible gateway), I tried researching the writer of Isaiah (also a little confusing), and then I of course tried praying about it.  So far no epiphany.

The only thing I really have to go off of is the authors story about praise.  I like praise.  In fact if church consisted of only praise and worship I would be totally happy.  I like learning in church too, but I love praise and worship.  The one thing that is very interesting about praise is that it is much more than singing a few songs on Sunday morning.  Praise in your life represents every moment in which you glorify God.

David Crowder describes true praise in a much more interesting descriptive way than I ever could.  In the book Praise Habit , Crowder is describes a moment in his life that was particularly difficult, he writes:

“And when I had bled out, when there was nothing left, I found Him.  And He was not where I thought He was.  Nor where I had put Him last.

He was in a Chick-fil-A sandwich

…The consequences of this discovery were huge.  If He was in a sandwich, where else could He be found?  Every moment was becoming holy.  Nothing was nonspiritual.  This was habitual praise- a perpetually sacred acknowledgement of the Giver of every good thing.”

Every moment of our lives has the potential to praise God.  To acknowledge his glories and his good.

So here is what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life- your sleeping, eating, going to work, and walking around life- and place it before God as an offering.  Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him.  Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without thinking.  Instead, fix your attention on God.  You’ll be changed from the inside out.  Romans 12: 1,2

Leave a Reply

