Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

God Ripped Me Off

Leave a comment

Today when I went for my daily walk with Sir Lincoln I listened to the most recent podcast by Andy Stanley from North Point Ministries (awesome pastor and excellent podcast).

The message totally hit me.  It was one of those profound moments when a concept so simple becomes so clear and you see it in a way that you never saw before.

The crux of the message was this: When we are jealous we are ultimately upset because we feel like God ripped us off.  The feeling of “that person is prettier” or “so-and-so has a great car and big house” is often blamed on the person we are jealous of, we rarely get upset at God for not giving us what others have- but really, if we are jealous, we should.  God is the ultimate giver, if someone else has something you want, it is not their fault- God blessed them with that.

It really made me think of who I am jealous of and why.

I am jealous of Denise because she was Isaac’s first love.  I am jealous of Denise because she is the mother of two of his children.  I am jealous of Denise because Isaac will always love her in some way.  I am jealous of Isaac because he has three kids and I only have one.  I am jealous of Isaac because he has been a parent longer than me.  And I am jealous of his kids because they were his first and not Lincoln.

The last one was hardest to admit.  But in reality, nobody in the above paragraph has wronged me- they just have something I want.

And I need to take it up with God because he is the giver.

Leave a Reply

