Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (pt.2)

1 Comment


the Good

I am so thankful for how well this weekend has unfolded.  Isaac had his two other kids all weekend and in the past that has been a time of high stress and drama in our relationship, but I think we are getting better at balancing the two households.  My relationship with his kids is starting to become more natural and I am really enjoying spending time with them. I am also getting better at “rolling with the punches.”

I don’t know if I have bad coping skills or really what my problem is but often time if there is a change in plans I have a really hard time dealing with it and it usually makes Isaac’s life miserable.  But this weekend I really did a great job handling life as it came.  I have been working on putting others before myself and not always worrying about my own selfish ambitions and I feel like I am really doing better.

the Bad

This is my last week home with the Little Squirt, I go back to work next Monday.  I think it will be great for me to be back in the real world, I miss my students, and I miss my coworkers, but I think I will miss my little guy even more.

I think I will also worry.

I am filled with anxiety even thinking about him being in the care of someone other than myself all day.  Not that I am some infant whisperer- in fact, truth be told I know don’t know anything about babies and this has all been one big learning experience.  But I will anyways, because I am the mom, and that’s just how it is.

I have two “Bad’s”

I weighed myself yesterday.

185 lbs.

Considering I am a PE teacher and my job is about promoting health and fitness.  I need to get a handle on this baby weight.  Now.

the Ugly

I have bills.

And people want their money.

All week people have been calling threatening to shut off my services.  Fortunately yesterday I was able to pay the utilities, and water so that Lincoln and I can keep living in this house.  However, I am left with negative eleven dollars in my bank account.

I will get paid again on the 23rd but the majority of that check is going to rent and I am only left with 300 dollars for groceries and daycare.  And although I found a very affordable daycare- nothing is that affordable.

I am just stressed.

I have an extra thousand dollars in savings to get me by but that money is going to eventually run out.  And then what.

I am obviously living above my means.  Two thousand dollars a month is not enough money for Lincoln and I to live off of and I fear that I am always going to be playing catch-up.

 

One thought on “the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly (pt.2)

  1. Hey Heidi! Thanks for stopping by my blog – I always enjoy “meeting” new people :). Congratulations on your son! He is adorable. I appreciate the honesty with which you write – praying God’s grace and healing for you.

    Charissa

    P.S. I’ve read Eat, Pray, Love as well (from your entry a few posts back) – loved that book!

Leave a Reply

