Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

Healthy Finger Foods for Babies

10 Comments

I am on the prowl.  I am certainly not the healthiest eater and I am really not caught up in the organic craze that has hit this country.  Not to say that it may not be better, but I would eat a fruit snack found under the couch from a few days ago.  Stuff like that just doesn’t bother me in the least, so a few pesticides, child’s play 🙂

Anyways, back to the point.

I’m not the healthiest eater, however, I am not a huge fan of feeding my little tater tot a lot of processed foods.  At this point I have full control of what he puts in his mouth (with the exception of what he may find on the floor while I am not looking, earlier today a dirty shoe looked tasty to him so his judgement on what to eat is a little off).

But considering I have all this control over his eating, especially at this age, I want him to eat good stuff.

Stuff that grows from ground or stuff that falls from trees.

That gerber banana vanilla star may be easy and delicious, but what is it really?

I figure if I can’t name the ingredients in it, I really don’t want him eating a whole lot of it.  Everything in moderation of course, but I want better for him most of the time.

So all you experienced super moms out there- What do I feed him???

I make most of his baby food, but he is moving on to finger foods and I just don’t know what to give him.

Here are my healthy-feed-myself foods up to this point.

Bananas

Mandarine Oranges

And Nothing Else

Someone please help me out.  It hurts my heart every time I give that kid a graham cracker.

10 thoughts on “Healthy Finger Foods for Babies

  1. Are graham crackers bad???? Some of my suggestions might be bad then… goldfish crackers are my kids faves, cheese strings (if he’s old enough), If you were to roast sweet potato slices, or apple rings that would be good (although my kids turned up their noses at that – healthier left overs for me though!) My heart goes out to you!

    • Graham crackers are not bad 🙂 I just give them to him a lot. Graham crackers and bananas or graham crackers and mandarine oranges. Over and over and over again…I am really hoping to find some snacks that he can eat by himself that are either a fruit or vegi. I like the cheese idea! I don’t know why I didn’t think of that, I love cheese!
      Thanks for the suggestions!!!

  2. At that age I gave my kiddos littlest squares of baked sweet potato, peas (they don’t choke on them) and chunks of steamed carrots. You can even find canned carrots with no salt added. They lived on cheerios too, but that’s processed. I even peeled grapes and cut them in quarters.

    • I like the carrot idea. Anything that is not too much work, I think he would love sweet potatoes too but I don’t know if I could realistically put that much effort into cooking a potato. Just keeping it real 🙂 Thanks!

  3. Torn up pieces of bread loaded with butter – processed but full of energy. Grated cheese is another favorite- pair it with cut up cherry tomatoes and he’ll love it. Organic strawberries cut up into pieces. Grated carrot. Thinking of it, maybe you should wait a couple of months before giving him strawberries but everything else is ok…as long as it is cut up into tiny pieces and he is supervised. Don’t worry. As long as he has some form of fruit or veg throughout the day, all s good. He ll get used to eating healthily if you give him a chance. You ll get there at some point.

  4. My kids loved the freeze dried yogurt snacks and peas and corn. Also, I would buy frozen veggies and put them in the little plastic net spoon things for them to chew on. That way they got to taste some of the healthy food and were able to enjoy the coolness of the frozen veggies (which is great for teethers) but the food was in the net so I did not have to worry about them chocking on the foods.

    • I am not sure why, but Lincoln has never caught on to those plastic net things. I have hear they are wonderful, but I can’t convince hime to put it in his mouth. I think it has to do with the fact that it looks like a pacifier and Linc has an extreme dislike for anything bottle/pacifier shaped being anywhere near him.

      Spoiled brat 🙂

      I do like freeze dried yogurt and that made me think of another idea. What about freezing yogurt in ice cube trays and giving it to him??? I feel like I just discovered America or something. I think I need some Christopher Columbus type recognition of this idea. Well, let me try it first. It could be a disaster.

      Thanks for the ideas and the inspiration!

  5. My kid loves avacodo and mango. A little gross when you change a diaper a little later but loaded with vitamins and healthy fats.

Leave a Reply

