Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

Next time…

8 Comments

There are many things I was told to buy for a newborn that I never used.  However, there is one thing that I wish I would have had that I didn’t.  It wasn’t on the list of must-haves that I certainly could have lived without, ahem- the Boppy.  And no experienced mother informed me how convenient it would have been to have one of these.

I wish I had a nursing cover.

I had no intention going into this nursing in public.  It was not a desire of mine to whip out a tit and feed a crying baby because “by golly, I’m a mom now and you all need to deal with it.”

No.

But when it came down to real life, a kids gotta eat.

And it was my job to feed him.

I am not a stay at home momma, by day two Lincoln was out and about.  The thing is, I had no idea how often those little bundles of joy would want to eat, and I wish someone would have told me.

I cannot tell you how many awkward moments I had trying to cover myself up with a friends sweatshirt or a clothe diaper/burp clothe.

Pathetic.

So, if you are planning on nursing.  Please, for the sake of modesty, sanity, and your own public embarrassment, buy a nursing cover.

And skip the stupid Boppy…just saying.

8 thoughts on “Next time…

  1. if you’re a sewer, they are incredibly easy to whip up. if not, but you know someone who is, i’m sure they’d be happy to make you one 😉

    • I do not sew, however…my mother is quite the seamstress AND she reads this blog. Hint hint mom. If I ever squeeze out another watermelon that should definitely be on the top of your to-do list 🙂

    • I know…why is that on every baby buy list on the planet??? I feel like I tried to find ways to use that thing so that I wouldn’t feel like I wasted my money on something so useless, and I still probably only used it about 4 times. So sad.

      • Yeah, I tried a lot too, it’s like no, really, you do NOT want this item.

        That said…maybe I can give it to someone for their baby shower?!?! hahahahaha. Make them figure out how to use it 🙂

  2. I liked to just use a small fleece blanket or large light cotten baby blanket as a cover up. I had no money and nothing to my name when my son was born so everything had to be super cheap or dual purpose and the blankie worked well for both bundling in cold winter drafts and disgusing my nipple being ravaged.

    • A blanket does work great, I just had trouble remembering one. Little Linc was born in the middle of summer, plus I don’t often travel with a diaper bag. With that being said, I am not sure how I would remember a nursing cover if I can’t remember to bring a blanket 🙂

Leave a Reply

