Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

I wish I was better at this…

8 Comments

My best friend had a horrible break up with her boyfriend of one year.  Her mom called, and I immediately went over to help.

I am bad at this.

I never know what to say.  I am naturally a quiet person and it is really difficult for me to say the right thing.

And I’m not a hugger.

I tried an awkward pat on the back but it was just that, awkward.

I just seriously suck at this.

She is going to stay at my house for the next few days.  I am glad that I can be here for my friend, she has always been there for me.

I just wish I was better at this.

8 thoughts on “I wish I was better at this…

  1. Sometimes just being there and offering to listen is enough. And if you’ve given her a place to stay for a few days, then thats a really great thing to do. Don’t worry about the hugs – they’re over-rated!! 😉

  2. If she’s staying at your house, it sounds likes your pretty good at this. It says a lot that she trusts you enough for you to be the phone call and the listening ear. Sending positive thoughts to you and your friend in these difficult times.

  3. Heidi, you don’t give yourself enough credit – your very compassionate! Just love your friend as God loves you, unconditionally and full of grace

  4. This is a lovely post, and thank you for bravely sharing your feelings. I understand that you wish you could do more but I sincerely believe just BEING there for your friend is doing more than you know. Sometimes we can just sit in silence with someone who is hurting, and we are helping. Bless your heart.

  5. You don’t have to be a hugger to be there for a friend 🙂 If she is at your house then you do care. You care enough to not let her go through her breakup alone. Sounds like a good friend to me! Best thing you can give her is your time.

  6. Thanks for the encouraging words everyone. It is just sometimes I don’t feel the most eloquent. Listening is my strength but when it comes to a comforting encouraging word, I practically get a stutter.

  7. Like everyone else said, sometimes the best thing is just being there to listen. Being heard is it’s own form of comfort.

  8. I was just thinking that you all have been so kind and encouraging, I think you should be here doing this instead of me 🙂 I’m not joking, I really am not great at this kind of stuff. Thanks everyone!

Leave a Reply

