Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

House Work

4 Comments

I have spent the last few days desperately trying to fix up my house, that for some reason feels like more of a fixer upper than I thought.

I knew this house needed work.

The saving grace is that it was all cosmetic.

Nothing major, just pulling out some carpet, splashing some paint on the walls, putting in some laminate, and changing a few fixtures.

Nothing drastic.

The problem is, all this non-drastic work.  Is a ton of work!!!

Right now I am trying to focus on the rooms that Linc and I will be living in the most.  I move in on Monday, so my thought is that we can live in these rooms and work on the others as we live there.  Actually that was Isaac’s idea and I stole it and now call it my own because it was pretty smart.

So here is where we are at in three days.

Carpet, out.

Tack strips under carpet, out.

Kitchen, painted and just about done.  We are still going to put in a backsplash that was on sale at Costco but that is not high priority.

Living room, mudded, painted, and floors cleaned.

The next room two high priority rooms for this weekend are the master (Linc and I can both sleep in there) and the bathroom.

The tub needs caulked, the room painted, and new fixtures need to be put up.

The master needs to be painted and the floors need to be stripped and cleaned.

Then move in day!!!

I will keep you posted on the work, I plan on packing at the old house today and then painting a room today.

Here are a few pictures of our progress. (I wish I would have taken some befores with the nasty dirty carpet.

4 thoughts on “House Work

  1. Good luck with your place. From the pictures, it looks nice.

  2. I’ve done a few fixer-uppers as a mom of three, and now I’m in Florida and have changed my ticket and extended my stay to help watch the little grandguys while we work as fast as we can to get the new homestead gussied up. We’ve had primitive conditions, but at least we have hot water and ac now.

  3. Wow! The pictures are great – who knew such a pretty floor was under that old carpet! Loved the paint colors too!!! Take lots of pictures to show Lincoln when he gets older. Can’t wait to see it next month – love you, enjoy your new home! THE MOM

  4. We picked the girls’ room as our first room priority. We assumed that Phil and I could sleep in the living room (nasty) if needed until we moved in. Luckily we ended up with a lot of volunteer childcare that enabled us to work up to three times as much as we had planned. We had everything except the dining room and living done when we moved in, the dining room was finished within the first week and the living room was finished within the first month. Our basement still isn’t done (not even started) but it’s just glorified storage anyways. Best of luck with your renos!

Leave a Reply

