Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

3 Hour Quilt: Did it!

9 Comments

I am a novice sewer.

I cracked open my new sewing machine just a few months ago with not a clue what I was doing.

And bam.

Now I’m a quilter.

Sorta.

Sorta, just because I am not that good at it yet.

When my mom was in town she helped me learn some of the basics of quilting.

The real challenging part was the trim.  I think there is another name for it but quilting lingo has yet to be engrained in my brain.

My first quilt was solid fabric where the quilting created the pattern.

I think it turned out pretty cute.

DSC01168

DSC01170

My next quilt I used some patterns and sewed strips together.

I used a tutorial for a 3 hour quilt and I think it turned out pretty well.

I did time it just to be terd.

I didn’t think it would actually take 3 hours but it actually came pretty close.

I didn’t have 3 solid hours in a row to work on this but I did do most of it on Monday night when I was sans kiddos.

And finished it Tuesday morning.

3.5 hours to be exact.

I think it is cute for only my second quilt.  I am quite proud.

3 hr quilt

DSC01166

So now I am addicted.

I am bidding on Ebay fabrics and getting ready for my next project.

A quilt for BoBo.

What do you think of the fabric choice???

maritime-modern-collage_thumbnail

I think it is going to be pretty cute.

I just hope I don’t screw it up.

9 thoughts on “3 Hour Quilt: Did it!

  1. love the fabric choice!! and 3 hours? that’s so cool! I’ve always wanted to make a quilt ^^

    • Thank you 🙂 It has been fun to learn. And the trick to the 3 hours is the trim is actually the backing folded over…I cheated. But I think it still pretty good and it is worth it to me to save time.

  2. Your quilt and your little model are beautiful! You did a fantastic job!

  3. I love them! You could start selling them 😉

  4. NICE QUILT! IT IS QUILTMAZING!

  5. Those are adorable! I love the patterns in the 3 hour one. I’ve just gotten a sewing machine, too, and I’m so excited to start some new projects- I’m afraid I’m just not a perfectionist, though, so they all look just a little wonky.

Leave a Reply

