Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

For the love of the game: My babies obsession

Leave a comment

DSC00776

My 20 month old is not normal.

He is obsessed with basketball.

Not only was this his first word.

(Not ball, but basketball.)

But he has a true love of the game.

When we are driving down the road, he will point out every home with a basketball hoop.

When we go to a playground he does not run towards the slides but the b-ball court on the other end of the park.

Tonight when I was sick and needed a calm, chill night, what did I turn on the television??

Veggie Tails, nope.DSC00809

He wouldn’t dream of sitting for that.

Kung Fu Panda, nuh uh.

Sponge Bob, you’ve got to be kidding me.

Cars.

Rio.

Teletubbies.

The Wiggles.

No, no, no, and no.

Name any cartoon, and I promise you, he just doesn’t care.

So how do I get my little boy to chill you ask?

I look for anything the features that little orange rock.

Basketball.

College, sure.

NBA, he’ll take it.

Three point contest, yeah.

Dunk contest, even better.

He loves it.

What a strange child I have.

Maybe it is in his DNA.

Mom PE teacher, dad college basketball player.

But honestly, it wasn’t encouraged.

It started on Christmas morning when he received his first hoop and ball from his Uncle.

He was shooting baskets before we even put it together.

We don’t even know where he learned what to do with this gift he was given.

But it has been love ever since.

I know it is not normal, but I have to admit.

I love that he loves it.

DSC01052

DSC01053

Leave a Reply

