Mom and Boys

Figuring it out one day at a time.

The DEAR plan.

4 Comments

IMG_0184

Drop. Everything. And. Read.

I don’t know where the number of 15 minutes per day actually came from but I have heard that thrown around the parenting world since before I was even a parent.

But the word is you should be reading to your child 15 minutes a day or more.

I used to think that our bed time book would suffice for this time, but now that it is summer we are going to bump things up a bit.

Bedtime does not count.

We are going to set aside 20 minutes a day just to stop everything, go to the reading chair, and read.

Everyone is invited, Lincoln, Bo, and of course, me (I’m the only one that can actually read).

It is going to be super.

I think it will be good for the fact that we are reading, and apparently that is good for kids.  But also the fact that we are just taking 20 minutes out of the day to chill.

I like that.

4 thoughts on “The DEAR plan.

  1. WooHoo! Those boys will be reading Freddy the Pig adventures before you know it! Way to go!

  2. Why doesn’t bedtime count? It counts!!!!!

    • Bed time counts! Trust me, if I didn’t count bed time we wouldn’t read half of the time. I am just trying hard to fit it in other places too 🙂 Stepping up my game for summer!

Leave a comment